clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Medhi Benatia Nominated for African Footballer of the Year

New, comments

The 28-year-old Moroccan will get another crack to collect the CAF's best individual award.

Matthias Hangst/Getty Images

Medhi Benatia appears on the 37-man shortlist for the CAF African Footballer of the Year award, the Confederation for African Football revealed on Monday.

This is the second straight season Benatia has made the shortlist as a Bayern Munich player, though last season he finished outside of the top three for the award. Manchester City's Yaya Touré has taken home the crown each of the last five years.

Benatia was the only Moroccan player nominated, Algeria having the most nominees of any country with six. Borussia Dortmund's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Borussia Mönchengladbach's Ibrahima Traoré are the only other Bundesliga players who made the list. The Barclays Premier League had the most nominations with nine, followed by the Italian Serie A with four.

The CAF will announce the winner this coming weekend. Here is the full list of nominees:

Aymen Abdennour (Valencia, Tunisia)
Vincent Aboubakar (FC Porto, Cameroon)
Christian Atsu (AFC Bournemouth, Nigeria)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon)
Serge Aurier (Paris Saint-Germain, Côte d'Ivoire)
Andre Ayew (Swansea City, Ghana)
Javier Balboa (Al-Faisaly, Equatorial Guinea)
Medhi Benatia (Bayern Munich, Morocco)
Thievy Bifouma (Granada, Republic of the Congo)
Yannick Bolasie (Crystal Palace, Democratic Republic of the Congo)
Baghdad Bonja (Étoile du Sahel, Algeria)
Yacine Brahimi (FC Porto, Algeria)
Yasine Chickhaoui (Al-Gharafa, Qatar)
Mame Diouf (Stoke City, Senegal)
Férébory Doré (Angers, Republic of the Congo)
Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, Nigeria)
Sofiane Feghouli (Valencia, Algeria)
Gervinho (AS Roma, Côte d'Ivoire)
Rudy Gestede (Aston Villa, Benin)
Faouzi Ghoulam (Napoli, Algeria)
Max Alain Gradel (AFC Bournemouth, Côte d'Ivoire)
Modather al Tayeb "Karika"(Al Hilal, Sudan)
Seydou Keita (AS Roma, Mali)
Robert Kidiaba (T.P. Mazembe, Democratic Republic of the Congo)
Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, Algeria)
Sadio Mané (Southampton, Senegal)
Stéphane Mbia (Trabzonspor, Cameroon)
Dieu Merci Mbokani (Norwich City, Democratic Republic of the Congo)
Bassem Morsi (Zamalek, Egypt)
Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moskva, Nigeria)
Nicolas N'Koulou (Olympique du Marseille, Cameroon)
Héldon Ramos (Rio Ave, Cabo Verde)
Mohamed Salah (AS Roma, Egypt)
El Arbi Hillel Soudani (Dinamo Zagreb, Algeria)
Ibrahima Traoré (Borussia Mönchengladbach, Guinea)
Yaya Touré (Manchester City, Côte d'Ivoire)
Viktor Wanyama (Southampton, Kenya)