clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cristiano Ronaldo Beats Manuel Neuer to Win the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or

The Portuguese superstar wins his third award, his second consecutive

Philipp Schmidli/Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo won the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or on Monday, the second year in a row that he has beaten out a Bayern player for the world's greatest individual footballing award. He has now won the award three times, tied for the second with Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima.

Ronaldo scored 59 goals and recorded 29 assists in 2014, winning his second Copa del Rey with and helping Real Madrid win La Decima, their tenth UEFA Champions League championship. He also won the UEFA Best Player in the World Award in August, making him the second player to win both in awards in succession.

Manuel Neuer, the first goalkeeper to be nominated since Oliver Kahn in 2002, finished third, Lionel Messi finishing just ahead in second 2nd after winning the Golden Ball in the FIFA World Cup. Neuer was part of the FIFA/FIFPro World XI for the second year in a row, along with Bayern teammates Philipp Lahm and Arjen Robben.

Here is the full list of award winners:

Ballon d'Or (Men): Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid/Portugal
Ballon d'Or (Women): Nadine Kessler, VfL Wolfsburg/Germany
World Coach (Men): Joachim Löw, Germany
World Coach (Women): Ralf Kellermann, VfL Wolfsburg
Presidential Award: Hiroshi Kagawa (Japanese sportswriter)
Fair Play Award: Volunteers from FIFA tournaments
Puskás Award: James Rodriguez, Colombia (June 28 vs. Uruguay)

FIFA/FIFPro World XI (4-3-3):

Manuel Neuer

Philipp Lahm – Sergio Ramos – David Luiz – Thiago Silva

Ángel di María – Toni Kroos – Andrés Iniesta

Arjen Robben – Lionel Messi – Cristiano Ronaldo

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works