clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Bayern Munich stars voted into UEFA Team of the Year

Two defenders, one attacking midfielder and of course Manuel Neuer were voted into the UEFA Team of the Year

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

After a month of voting and 8,410,413 votes, UEFA finally has it's fan voted Team of the Year. Like all fan voted team's of the year, it's short on functionality and high on having every goal scorer under the sun. That doesn't stop if from being a massively fun exercise and one that saw Bayern Munich end up with 4 representatives -- 4 1/2 if you want to count Toni Kroos -- the most of any club on the continent.

Manuel Neuer ran away with the goalkeeper category being selected in nearly two-thirds of all the team selections put down by fans while both David Alaba and Philipp Lahm won out in a very competitive defensive class, being selected in 46% and 66% of fan choices respectively.

The loan attacking selection from Bayern Munich was Arjen Robben whose phenomenal form in the last year earned him an easy nomination after being selected in 61% of all submitted teams.

Complete UEFA Team of the Year: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich),  Angel Di Maria (Manchester United), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works