clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Germany announces men’s Olympic football roster

In a video from the DFB Twitter account (created in anime style), the full squad for the German Olympic team

via @DFB_Team_EN on Twitter

The DFB announced the roster for their men’s team competing in the upcoming 2020(ne) Tokyo Olympics with a video on their Twitter account.

The anime-style video shows U-23 manager Stefan Kuntz and the rest of his squad of hopefuls. The Germans are looking to seek revenge after falling in the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Football Finals on penalties to host nation Brazil.

According to the IOC’s rules, all members of the team must be born after a cut off date, with the allowance of only three players born before that cut off date. This time around, all players must have been born on or after January 1st, 1997.

The three players selected who miss that cut off date are Union Berlin’s Max Kruse, Wolfsburg’s Maximilian Arnold and Bayer Leverkusen’s Nadiem Amiri - who was born just 67 days before the cutoff.

None of the players represented on this list have carried over from the team the DFB sent to the 2020 Euros.

Here is the squad:


  • Florian Müller (VfB Stuttgart)
  • Svend Brodersen (free agent)
  • Luca Plogmann (Werder Bremen).


  • Jordan Torunarigha (Hertha BSC)
  • Benjamin Henrichs (RB Leipzig)
  • Amos Pieper (Arminia Bielefeld)
  • David Raum (TSG Hoffenheim)
  • Felix Uduokhai (FC Augsburg)
  • Josha Vagnoman (Hamburger SV).


  • Anton Stach (SpVgg Greuther Fürth)
  • Eduard Löwen (VfL Bochum)
  • Niklas Dorsch (KAA Gent)
  • Ismail Jakobs (1. FC Köln)
  • Arne Maier (Hertha BSC)
  • Nadiem Amiri (Bayer 04 Leverkusen)
  • Maximilian Arnold (VfL Wolfsburg)


  • Max Kruse (1. FC Union Berlin)
  • Marco Richter (FC Augsburg)
  • Cedric Teuchert (Union Berlin)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works