clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski wins Germany’s footballer of the year award

Thomas Tuchel beat Hansi Flick to the corresponding award for managers

Sweden v Poland - UEFA Euro 2020: Group E Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo - UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images

After an incredible season that saw him break a fifty-year-old Bundesliga scoring record, Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has been awarded Germany’s footballer of the year award. He secured the lions share of votes with 356.

There is no doubt that this is a deserved win, with Lewandowski breaking Gerd Muller’s unbreakable Bundesliga goal record. Thomas Muller scored respectably in the voting, coming in second place with 41 votes, surprisingly, but not undeservedly ahead of Erling Haaland. Joshua Kimmich and Leon Goretzka are other Bayern players on the list.

Former Bayern player, Jerome Boateng also scored a few votes, while Sascha Molders had a surprise 5 votes! Furthermore, the Chelsea duo of Timo Werner and Kai Havertz also both (undeservedly) are high up on the list.

As for managers, Thomas Tuchel won the award, after guiding Chelsea to the Champions League title:

Tuchel beat out the second place Hansi Flick by a narrow margin, whilst Edin Terzic rounded off the top 3.

Some managers with surprise votes were Jurgen Klopp, whos Liverpool side was quite poor throughout the season. And, Pal Dardai, who’s Hertha Berlin side were a relegation risk throughout the season.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works