clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Thomas Müller, David Alaba win record 10th Bundesliga title

The two veteran Bayern Munich players now hold the record for most Bundesliga championships.

FC Chelsea - FC Bayern Munich Photo by Sven Hoppe/picture alliance via Getty Images

While Bayern Munich celebrated the club’s thirtieth Bundesliga championship on Saturday following the club’s beat down of Borussia Mönchengladbach, Thomas Müller and David Alaba were possibly unknowingly celebrating a record of their own. The two veteran players are the first players in Bundesliga history to reach the ten championships milestone.

Müller and Alaba surpassed former Bayern legend Franck Ribery who lifted the Meisterschale on nine separate occasions. While Müller may very well win title number eleven next season, this will likely be the last Bundesliga championship for Alaba. With his departure for Spain this summer, the only way he’ll lift that trophy again is if he somehow returns to Germany at the end of his big La Liga contract.

This championship also moves four more Bayern players level with Ribery on nine. Jerome Boateng, Robert Lewandowski, Javi Martinez, and Manuel Neuer all won their ninth title this year. While Boateng and Martinez will also be leaving the club this summer, Lewandowski and Neuer will be aiming for title number ten next season.

Most Bundesliga Titles

10: David Alaba, Thomas Müller

9: Jerome Boateng, Robert Lewandowski, Javi Martinez, Manuel Neuer, Franck Ribery

8: Philipp Lahm, Arjen Robben, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Oliver Kahn, Mehmet Scholl

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works