clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bayern Munich celebrates second Laureus Team of the Year honor

After a sextuple, the recognition just keeps coming.

Bayer 04 Leverkusen v FC Bayern Muenchen - DFB Cup Final Photo by Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

Bayern Munich was recognized as Team of the Year by the Laureus World Sports Awards for their sextuple-winning effort under manager Hansi Flick. provided some background on the significance of the award as the website noted that it was the second time that Bayern Munich has received the honor. The first instance was back in 2014. Aside of the Bavarians, only the French national football team and the South African rugby team have won the award twice.

Bayern Munich President Herbert Hainer was obviously extremely happy to see the team earn such a distinguished honor.

“We’re very proud to have been recognized with the Laureus Award for Team of the Year. FC Bayern are the only club to have received this honour a second time,” said Hainer. “In 2020 we celebrated six titles – this award is the seventh trophy of a historic year which we’ll never forget.”

Bayern Munich CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge was equally as impressed.

“The Laureus Award is a great honor for our club, for which we are thankful. Our team are an inspiration for athletes around the world with their historic sextuple, showing that together you can achieve anything,” said Rummenigge. “We take every trophy as motivation to continue giving everything for our fans.”

Thomas Müller appreciated his club getting the award as well and produced this video to thank the fans for their support:

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works