clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DFB Pokal Draw: Bayern Munich will face Mittelrhein Football Association cup winner

Bayern find out their opponent for the first round matchup, in a way.

Bayer 04 Leverkusen v FC Bayern Muenchen - DFB Cup Final Photo by John MacDougall/Pool via Getty Images

Bayern Munich have found out their opponents for the 2020/21 DFB Pokal First Round following Sunday’s draw. The Bavarians will face... the cup winners from the Mittelrhein Football Association, whoever that ends up being. Unfortunately, due to COVID-19, the cup finals for the amateur associations haven’t been completed yet!

In fact, across the board, we don’t quite know who most of the Bundesliga and 2.Bundesliga teams will be facing since they’ve yet to determine the state cup finals. However, we do know that Bayern will be facing one of the following four teams: 1. FC Düren, Viktoria Arnoldsweiler, FC Pesch, or Alemannia Aachen. The first three play in the Mittelrheinliga, while Aachen are in the Regionalliga West.

Next season, Bayern will attempt to be the first team to win the Pokal for the third year in a row. You can see the schedule and full draw below.


  • First Round: September 11-14, 2020
  • Second Round: December 22-23, 2020
  • Round of 16: February 2-3, 2021
  • Quarterfinals: March 2-3, 2021
  • Semifinals: Currently scheduled for first weekend in May 2021 but could change.
  • Final: May 13, 2021

Full Draw

  • 1. FC Nürnberg – RB Leipzig
  • Pokalsieger Schleswig-Holsteinischer FV – VfL Osnabrück
  • Niedersächsischer FV (Pokalsieger 3. Liga & Regionalliga) – FSV Mainz 05
  • Pokalsieger Sächsischer FV – TSG Hoffenheim
  • Pokalsieger Bayerischer FVEintracht Frankfurt
  • Pokalsieger Thüringischer FVWerder Bremen
  • SV Wehen Wiesbaden – 1. FC Heidenheim
  • Pokalsieger FV Mittelrhein – Bayern München
  • Niedersächsischer FV (Pokalsieger Amateure) – FC Augsburg
  • Pokalsieger Südbadischer FV – Holstein Kiel
  • Eintracht Braunschweig – Hertha BSC
  • Pokalsieger FV Mecklenburg-Vorpommern – VfB Stuttgart
  • MSV DuisburgBorussia Dortmund
  • Pokalsieger Hessischer FV – SV Sandhausen
  • Pokalsieger Württembergischer FV – Erzgebirge Aue
  • Dynamo Dresden – Hamburger SV
  • Pokalsieger FV Rheinland – VfL Bochum
  • Pokalsieger Badischer FV – SC Freiburg
  • Pokalsieger FV Brandenburg – VfL Wolfsburg
  • Pokalsieger Bremer FVBorussia Mönchengladbach
  • Pokalsieger Saarländischer FV – FC St. Pauli
  • Pokalsieger Hamburger FV – Bayer 04 Leverkusen
  • Würzburger Kickers – Hannover 96
  • FLV Westfalen (2. Teilnehmer) – Greuther Fürth
  • Pokalsieger Südwestdeutscher FV – Jahn Regensburg
  • Pokalsieger Berliner FV – 1. FC Köln
  • Pokalsieger FV NiederrheinArminia Bielefeld
  • Bayerischer FV (Bester Amateurverein Regionalliga Bayern) – FC Schalke 04
  • FC Ingolstadt – Fortuna Düsseldorf
  • Karlsruher SC – Union Berlin
  • 1. FC Magdeburg – SV Darmstadt 98
  • FLV Westfalen (1. Teilnehmer) – SC Paderborn

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works