clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Germany’s Giulia Gwinn wins Best Young Player Award at 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup

New, comments

The 20-year-old joins Australia’s Caitlin Foord and Canada’s Kadeisha Buchanan as the third winner of the award.

Germany v China PR: Group B - 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France Photo by Maja Hitij/Getty Images

Despite being knocked out in the Quarterfinals of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, Germany’s Giulia Gwinn has been awarded the tournament’s Best Young Player Award. She had a terrific tournament and is well deserving of this award.

The 20-year-old (as of July 2) played every minute of Germany’s five matches, notching one goal and one assist. Gwinn spent the last four seasons with Freiburg and agreed to move to Bayern Munich this summer.

Here was Gwinn’s game-winning goal against China in the opening match.

Full List of Awards

Golden Ball: Megan Rapinoe — United States
Silver Ball: Lucy Bronze — England
Bronze Ball: Rose Lavelle — United States

Golden Boot: Megan Rapinoe — United States
Silver Boot: Alex Morgan — United States
Bronze Boot: Ellen White — England

Golden Glove: Sari van Veenendaal — Netherlands

Best Young Player: Giulia Gwinn — Germany

Fair Play: France