clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Marco Reus, Dszenifer Marozsan named Footballers of the Year; Jurgen Klopps takes Manager of the Year

New, comments

No Bayern, No Party. No Bayern Munich players take home awards in Germany this year.

Udinese Calcio v Borussia Dortmund - Pre-Season Friendly Photo by TF-Images/Getty Images

Marco Reus, Dzsenifer Marozsan, and Jurgen Klopp have been awarded the 2019 Men’s Footballer, Women’s Footballer, and Manager of the Year awards in Germany.

This is Reus’s second time winning the Footballer of the Year award. The first time was seven years ago when he was a member of Borussia Monchengladbach. Reus is the first Borussia Dortmund player to win the award in twenty two years! The last BVB player was Jurgen Kohler back in 1997.

Marozsan has now been named the Footballer of the Year for the third consecutive year. Last year, she became the first player to win it in back-to-back years since Inka Grings in 2009-2010. Now, she’s the first player to win it for a three-peat since Brigit Prinz who won it for an unfathomable eight years in a row from 2001-2008.

This is the third time that Klopp has won the Manager of the year award. The first two were back-to-back when Dortmund won titles in 2011-2012.

However, now that all of that is out of the way, let’s dig into the fun stuff.

  • There’s no other place to start than here: A player in Germany’s fifth division receive a vote for Footballer of the Year. Mike Enderle plays for Freiburger FC. Never heard of them? Last season, they played in the Verbandsliga Südbaden last season. That’s Germany’s sixth division. However, they did win promotion into the Oberliga Baden-Württemberg where they will play this season. So... yeah. I don’t know who voted for him, but you’re my new hero.
  • It’s time for the creation of the Women’s Football Manager of the Year award. There’s no excuse at this point.
  • Domenico Tedesco receiving not one but TWO votes for Manager of the Year for Schalke’s season is one of the funniest things that I have ever seen. Who are these people voting? HE WAS FIRED IN MARCH!
  • Giulia Gwinn turned 20 this summer, and she finished fourth in the voting. The young defender was a big signing for Bayern this year, and you should expect to see more of her in the future. She’s a star.
  • This is the second consecutive year that a Bayern men’s player didn’t win the award. This is only the third time since 1999 that a Bayern player went two years without winning the award.

Male Footballer of the Year Voting

  1. Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund) 158
  2. Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen) 121
  3. Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich) 35
  4. Leroy Sane (Manchester City) 28
  5. Luka Jovic (Eintracht Frankfurt) 27

Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich) 22, Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) 21, Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona) 17, Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund) 15, Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich) 8, Claudio Pizzaro (Werder Bremen) 7, Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich) 6, Niklas Sule (Bayern Munich) 6, Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City) 5, Mario Gotze (Borussia Dortmund) 4, Max Kruse (Werder Bremen) 4, Joel Matip (Liverpool) 4, Toni Kroos (Real Madrid) 3, Yann Sommer (Borussia Monchengladbach) 3, Timo Werner (RB Leipzig) 3, Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund) 3, Maximilian Eggestein (Werder Bremen) 2, Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich) 2, Peter Gulacsi (RB Leipzig) 2, Makoto Hasebe (Eintracht Frankfurt) 2, Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich) 2, Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich) 2, Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich) 2, Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich) 2, Sven Ulreich (Bayern Munich) 2, Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen) 1, Danny da Costa (Eintracht Frankfurt) 1, Mike Enderle (Freiburger FC) 1, Alfred Finnbogasson (Augsburg) 1, Sebastien Haller (Eintracht Frankfurt) 1, Jonas Hector (Koln) 1, Lewis Holtby (Hamburger) 1, Ibrahima Konaté (RB Leipzig) 1, Filip Kostic (Eintracht Frankfurt) 1, Tobias Mohr (Greuther Furth 1), Willi Orban (RB Leipzig) 1, Benjamin Pavard (Stuttgart) 1, Milot Rashica (Werder Bremen) 1, Ante Rebic (Eintracht Frankfurt) 1, Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich) 1, Sebastian Rode (Borussia Dortmund/Eintracht Frankfurt) 1, Alexander Schwolow (Freiburg) 1, Steven Skrzybski (Schalke 04) 1, Kevin Stoger (Fortuna Dusseldorf) 1, Simon Terodde (Koln) 1, Luca Waldschmidt (Freiburg) 1, Jean Zimmer (Fortuna Dusseldorf) 1

Female Footballer of the Year Voting

  1. Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon) 159
  2. Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg) 81
  3. Sara Dabritz (Bayern Munich) 61
  4. Giulia Gwinn (Freiburg) 40
  5. Almuth Schult (Wolfsburg) 40

Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg) 26, Lena Goessling (Wolfsburg) 11, Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg) 9, Svenja Huth (Turbine Potsdam) 8, Lea Schuller (Essen) 8, Lena Oberdorf (Essen) 6, Melanie Leupolz (Bayern Munich) 5, Lina Magull (Bayern Munich) 4, Martina Hegering (Essen) 3, Lisa Schmitz (Turbine Potsdame) 3, Sara Doorsoun (Wolfsburg) 2, Merle Frohms (Freiburg) 2, Julia Simic (West Ham) 2, Carolin Simon (Lyon) 2, Klara Buhl (Freiburg) 1, Sara Bjork Gunnarsdottir (Wolfsburg) 1, Leonie Maier (Bayern Munich) 1, Anja MIttag (Rosengard) 1, Maximiliane Rall (Hoffenheim) 1

Manager of the Year Voting

  1. Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool) 183
  2. Friedhelm Funkel (Fortuna Dusseldorf) 139
  3. Adi Hutter (Eintracht Frankfurt) 56
  4. Niko Kovac (Bayern Munich) 52
  5. Christian Streich (Frieburg) 26

Lucien Favre (Borussia Dortmund) 16, Florian Kohfeldt (Werder Bremen) 13, Ralf Rangnick (RB Leipzig) 11, Steffen Baumgart (Paderborn) 7, Bruno Labbadia (Wolfsburg) 5, Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany Women’s National Team) 4, Stefan Kuntz (German Men’s U21 Team) 3, Sandro Schwarz (Mainz) 3, Daniel Thioune (Osnabruck) 3, Urs Fischer (Union Berlin) 2, Dieter Hecking (Borussia Monchengladbach) 2, Horst Hrubesch (Germany Women’s National Team) 2, Marco Rose (RB Salzburg) 2, Frank Schmidt (Heidenheim) 2, Domenico Tedesco (Schalke) 2, Pal Dardai (Hertha Berlin) 1, Julian Nagelsmann (Hoffenheim) 1, Marcus Sorg (Germany Men’s National Team) 1, Tim Walter (Holstein Kiel) 1