clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bayern Munich youth roundup: Coaching changes just about everywhere

The Bayern Munich youth campus is looking to improve on a very successful 2018-2019 season.

Getty Images

Bayern Munich has made a significant investment in improving its youth campus and as such, some changes have been made to help the amateur teams continue their development. Campus Manager Jochen Sauer is happy with the changes and thinks that Bayern is well-structured to continue its commitment to developing youth players.

I am convinced that with this team of coaches we are excellently positioned for the future and will be able to meet the high demands placed on the young talent of FC Bayern.

As previously reported, Martin Demichelis will take over as the U-19 coach and will be assisted by Danny Schwarz and Stefan Buck. In addition, Bundesliga veteran Simon Jentzsch was named goalkeeper coach of the U-16 and U-17 teams, taking over for Uwe Gospodarek, who recently left for VfB Stuttgart. Jentzsch was excited about his appointment:

I’m really looking forward to taking on this task here at the FC Bayern Campus and to being able to bring in my many years of experience as a Bundesliga professional.

As for the other goalkeeper coaching positions on campus, Tom Starke will continue to coach the U-19 goalkeeper in the new season, while Andreas Rössl will be the goalkeeper coach for the U-13 through U-15 age groups. Michael Netolitzky will coach goalkeeper at U-12 and below.

A complete list of head coaching changes, as detailed by, is below:

  • U-16: Alexander Moj (head coach) moves up from the U-14 team.
  • U-14: Maximilian Knauer (head coach) moves up from the U-13 team.
  • U-13: Raphael Sonnweber (head coach) moves to Bayern from Innsbruck.
  • U-12: Marcel Schneider (head coach) moves up from the U-11 team.
  • U-11: Tayfun Erol (head coach) moves up from the U-10 team.
  • U-10: Philipp Deppner (head coach) moves from U-13 team.

There were some positions that stayed in place including Miroslav Klose (U-17), Peter Wenninger (U-15), and Christian Hufnagel (U-9) all remained in their current positions.