clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bayern Munich and RB Leipzig fined for fan behavior at DFB-Pokal finale

A little bit of pyro cost both clubs some money.

picture alliance via Getty Image

The DFB-Pokal championship game did not feature too many fireworks on the field, but the pyrotechnics in the stands sure caught the attention of the German Football Association. Per a report by TZ, both Bayern Munich and RB Leipzig were fined for pyrotechnics set off by their respective fan groups.

Bayern Munich was fined €47,000, while RB Leipzig only has to pay €7,000.

The pyrotechnics set off by the RB Leipzig faithful may not have been as intense as those used by Bayern, but it cost the team nonetheless.
picture alliance via Getty Image

Bayern Munich, of course, won the contest and was crowned as DFB-Pokal champions behind a brace from Robert Lewandowski and a single tally from Kingsley Coman. The 3-0 victory for Bayern clinched the 19th DFB-Pokal championship for the club.

Bayern has now won the DFB-Pokal in 1957, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1982, 1984, 1986, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2019. Bayern also has four runner-up finishes to its credit as well.

RB Leipzig has never won the title and this year represented the club’s first runner-up finish.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works