clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

David Alaba called up for Austria’s Euro 2020 Qualifiers

The Bayern Munich left back has, once again, been called up by Austria.

Tottenham Hotspur v Bayern Muenchen: Group B - UEFA Champions League Photo by TF-Images/Getty Images

David Alaba has been called up by Austria for their upcoming Euro 2020 Qualifiers against Israel and Slovenia. However, due to his rib injury, it remains to be seen if he’ll actually leave Munich during this international window.

While Austria have already announced that two players have been withdrawn from the squad due to injuries, they haven’t made any announcements regarding Alaba. Still, Bayern Munich sporting director Hasan Salihamidzic sounds pretty matter of fact that they will not be releasing Alaba in this window.

David has a hairline fracture in his rib; he’ll be out and will not be released [to Austria], exactly like Lucas, who will also not be released to the national team, because he has a stress reaction in his knee. We will inform the national teams that the players aren’t feeling well, that they are injured. Then the doctors will clear things up among themselves.

Two players have already been replaced in the squad due to injuries. Hoffenheim’s Florian Grillitsch has been replaced by Anderlecht’s Peter Zulj. Freiburg’s Philipp Lienhart has been replaced by Red Bull Salzburg’s Maximilian Wober.

Austria will play Israel on October 10 and Slovenia on October 13.

Full List

Goalkeepers: Pavao Pervan (Wolfsburg), Alexander Schlager (LASK), Cican Stankovic (Red Bull Salzburg)

Defenders: Aleksandar Dragovic (Bayer Leverkusen), Martin Hinteregger (Eintracht Frankfurt), Stefan Lainer (Borussia Monchengladbach), Philipp Lienhart (Freiburg), Stefan Posch (Hoffenheim), Andreas Ulmer (Red Bull Salzburg), David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Maximilian Wober (Red Bull Salzburg)

Midfielders: Julian Baumgartlinger (Bayer Leverkusen), Thomas Goiginger (LASK), Florian Grillitsch (Hoffenheim), Stefan Ilsanker (RB Leipzig), Florian Kainz (Koln), Konrad Laimer (RB Leipzig), Valentino Lazaro (Inter Milan), Karim Onisiwo (Mainz), Marcel Sabitzer (RB Leipzig), Louis Schaub (Koln), Peter Zulj (Anderlecht)

Forwards: Marko Arnautovic (Shanghai SIPG), Michael Gregoritsch (Augsburg), Lukas Hinterseer (Hamburg)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works