clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Who/where/when: Bayern Munich players on international duty

New, comments

Here is a schedule and overview of the upcoming international friendly, as Bayern’s players disperse across Europe to play for their respective countries.

Thomas Mueller, Niklas Suele and Joshua Kimmich of Germany during a training session of the German National team at Robert-Schlienz-Stadion on August 30, 2017 in Stuttgart, Germany.
Thomas Mueller, Niklas Süle and Joshua Kimmich, August 30, 2017.
Photo by Alexander Hassenstein/Bongarts/Getty Images

Most people hate them with a passion, but an international break is once again upon us; and this time, just for friendlies. The international friendlies across the globe over the course of the next week and a half, and Bayern Munich have a total of 14 players who’ll be on duty for their respective countries.

FC Deutschland: the German national team

Thomas Muller, Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels, Joshua Kimmich, Niklas Sule, Sebastian Rudy, and Sandro Wagner have all been called up to Joachim Low’s Germany squad for a pair of friendlies against Spain and then Brazil.

The match vs. Spain will take place on Friday, March 23rd at the ESPRIT arena in Dusseldorf at 8:45pm CET (3:45pm EST).

The match against Brazil is set for Tuesday, March 27th at the Olympiastadion in Berlin at 8:45pm CET (2:45pm EST).

The other European players: Corentin Tolisso, David Alaba, Robert Lewandowski and Thiago Alcantara

Bayern will also have four other European players in action during the break: Tolisso for France, Alaba for Austria, Lewandowski for Poland, and Thiago for Spain. Their schedules are as follows:

Tolisso:

France vs. Colombia on Friday, March 23rd, at the Stade de France in Paris, 9:00pm CET (4:00pm EST)

Russia vs. France on Tuesday, March 27th, at the Stadion Krestovskyi in St. Petersburg, Russia, 4:50pm CET (11:50pm EST)

Alaba:

Austria vs. Slovenia on Friday, March 23rd, at Wörthersee Stadion in Klagenfurt, Austria, 8:45pm CET (3:45pm EST)

Luxembourg vs. Austria on Tuesday, March 27th, at the Stade Josy Barthel in Lëtzebuerg, Luxembourg, 8:30pm CET (2:30pm EST)

Lewandowski:

Poland vs. Nigeria on Friday, March 23rd, at Stadion Miejski in Wrocław, Poland, 8:45pm CET (3:45pm EST)

Poland vs. Korea Republic on Tuesday, March 27th, at Stadion Śląski in Chorzów, Poland, 8:45pm CET (2:45pm EST)

Thiago:

Germany vs. Spain on Friday, March 23rd, at the ESPRIT arena in Dusseldorf at 8:45pm CET (3:45pm EST).

Spain vs. Argentina on Tuesday, March 27th, at the Estadio Wanda Metropolitano in Madrid, Spain, 9:30pm CET (3:30pm EST)

The South American duo: James Rodriguez and Arturo Vidal

Elsewhere around the world, James Rodriguez will be in action for Colombia while Arturo Vidal will be joining up with Chile. The South American pair will have the most amount of travelling to do of all of the Bayern players on international duty.

James:

France vs. Colombia on Friday, March 23rd, at the Stade de France in Paris, 9:00pm CET (4:00pm EST)

Colombia vs. Australia on Tuesday, March 27th, at Craven Cottage in London, England, 8:00pm CET (3:00pm EST)

Vidal:

Sweden vs. Chile on Saturday, March 24th, at Friends Arena in Solna, Sweden, 6:00pm CET (1:00pm EST)

Denmark vs. Chile on Tuesday, March 27th, at Aalborg Portland Park in Aalborg, Denmark, 9:00pm CET (3:00pm EST)

As always, we will be posting gamethreads for Germany’s pair of friendlies. Be sure to join us there on both matchdays! We look forward to seeing you/hearing from you there!

The schedule at a glance:

Friday, March 23:

Germany-Spain, 8:45 CET / 3:45 EST
Austria-Slovenia, 8:45 CET / 3:45 EST
Poland-Nigeria, 8:45 CET / 3:45 EST
France-Colombia, 9:00 CET / 4:00 EST

Saturday, March 24:

Sweden-Chile, 6:00 CET / 1:00 EST

Tuesday, March 27:

Russia-France, 4:50 CET / 11:50 EST
Colombia-Australia, 8:00 GMT / 3:00 EST
Luxembourg-Austria, 8:30 CET / 2:30 EST
Germany-Brazil, 8:45 CET / 2:45 EST
Poland-Korea Republic, 8:45 CET / 2:45 EST
Denmark-Chile, 9:00 CET / 3:00 EST
Spain-Argentina, 9:30 CET / 3:30 EST