clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bavarian Football Works 2016-17 Bundesliga Team of the Season

New, comments

Here’s the team you voted for.

Bayern Muenchen v SC Freiburg - Bundesliga Photo by Jan Hetfleisch/Getty Images for MAN

We asked you to vote on the Bundesliga Team of the Season using the parameters set out by the league. So, without further adieu, here is the Bavarian Football Works 2016-17 Bundesliga Team of the Season!


Manuel Neuer

The Bayern Munich goalkeeper rolled to victory with 87% of the vote over Hoffenheim’s Oliver Baumann (7%) and Köln’s Timo Horn (6%). Neuer led the league in clean sheets despite missing the final five Bundesliga matches. He’s the world’s best goalkeeper, and he proves that match after match.

Left Back

Jonas Hector

The Köln left back edged out Schalke’s Sead Kolasinac (42%) with 47% of the vote. Hertha Berlin’s Marvin Plattenhardt (11%) finished in third. With David Alaba’s fall from grace this season, Hector stepped forward and provided the most consistent play throughout the entirety of the season. With Köln having qualified for next season’s Europa League, Hector will get the opportunity to perform on a bigger club stage than ever before.

Center Back

Mats Hummels

The Bayern Munich centerback carried 84% of the vote compared to Hertha Berlin’s John Brooks (12%) and Eintracht Frankfurt’s Jesus Vallejo (4%). With Jerome Boateng suffering multiple long-term injuries during the season, Hummels was required to anchor the backline and ease Javi Martinez into a regular spot alongside him. He’ll get a rest this summer from the Confederations Cup to fully recover from the injury he suffered late in the campaign.

Center Back

Niklas Süle

The Hoffenheim (and future Bayern Munich) center back received 50% of the vote on the way to beating Bayern’s Javi Martinez (40%) and RB Leipzig’s Willi Orban (11%). Süle was a big reason for Hoffenheim finishing the season with the second fewest goals conceded. He’ll feature for Germany this summer at the Confederations Cup before battling for a starting spot at Bayern next season.

Right Back

Philipp Lahm

The Bayern Munich right back carried 71% of the vote to beat out Borussia Dortmund’s Lukasz Piszczek (23%) and Bayer Leverkusen’s Benjamin Henrichs (6%). While he lost a step over the last couple of seasons, Lahm’s intelligence and positioning more than made up for it. Henrichs displayed incredible potential, but the year still belonged to Lahm.

Left Midfield

Emil Forsberg

The RB Leipzig midfielder received 63% of the votes to beat Werder Bremen’s Serge Gnabry (35%) and Freiburg’s Vincenzo Grifo (2%). Forsberg finished the campaign with an impressive 19 assists and 8 goals. The 25 year old is likely going to be on the subject of interest from some of Europe’s bigger clubs this summer, and he only has one year remaining on his current deal.

Center Midfield

Thiago Alcantara

The Bayern Munich midfielder ran away from Bayern teammate Arturo Vidal (20%) and Marco Fabian (4%) with a total of 76% of the vote. Thiago was the fulcrum that kept Bayern chugging along all season long and went a long ways to establishing himself as unquestionably the best midfielder in the Bundesliga and one of the best in the entire world.

Center Midfield

Naby Keita

The RB Leipzig midfielder won a much tougher battle in the other center midfielder race. Keita finished with 54% of the vote, compared to Julian Weigl (28%) and Sebastian Rudy (18%). Keita was unquestionably the biggest surprise revelation of the Bundesliga season, helping Leipzig to a stunning second place finish in their first ever top flight campaign.

Right Midfield

Arjen Robben

The Bayern Munich winger won the tightest vote of all eleven positions. Robben finished with 47% of the vote just edging out Ousmane Dembele (44%). Christian Pulisic (9%) finished a distant third place. Robben finished with 13 goals in the season, rounding back into form as the season progressed. Despite his age, Robben remains one of the most feared attackers in all of the Bundesliga.


Robert Lewandowski

The Bayern Munich forward received a staggering 92% of the vote in his threesome. He obliterated Timo Werner (6%) and Mario Gomez (1%). This season, Lewandowski became only the second player in Bundesliga season to score 30 goals in back to back seasons. He missed out on winning the Torjägerkanone to Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang on the final day of the season.


Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

The Borussia Dortmund forward received 78% of the vote ahead of Köln’s Anthony Modeste (15%) and Bayer Leverkusen’s Chicharito Hernandez (6%). Aubameyang edged out Robert Lewandowski on the final matchday to win the prestigious Torjägerkanone given to the Bundesliga’s top scorer. His 31 goals were the first time in his career that he passed the 30 goal threshold and top the 25 he scored last season. Now, we’ll see whether or not he remains in Dortmund or if the offer from Real Madrid turns out to be too good to turn down.