clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BFW Community Results: 2015-16 Bundesliga Postseason Awards

Who did the community pick?

FC Bayern Muenchen Celebrates Winning The DFB Cup 2016 Photo by Alexandra Beier/Bongarts/Getty Images

The results are in from Bavarian Football Works community voting for the 2015-16 Bundesliga awards.

Young Player of the Year

You Picked: Joshua Kimmich

Bayern Munich's Joshua Kimmich was chosen by the community as the Younger Player of the Year during the 2015-16 Bundesliga season. Kimmich held off Borussia Dortmund's Julian Weigl 32.3% to 28.6%. Kingsley Coman finished in third place with 21.8% of the vote. Borussia Mönchengladbach's Mahmoud Dahoud was next with 7.5%. Leroy Sane picked up a couple of votes to come in at 5.3%, while Jonathan Tah (3%) and Julian Brandt (1.5%) rounded out the voting.

Staff Picked: Julian Weigl

Goalkeeper of the Year

You Picked: Manuel Neuer

Well, this certainly wasn't close. In a landslide vote, Manuel Neuer was chosen by the community as the Goalkeeper of the Year. Neuer wrapped up 85.7% of the vote. His closest competitor was Mainz's Loris Karius who picked up 8.3% of the vote. Timo Horn received a whopping 3% of the vote, while Bernd Leno finished at 1.5%. Ron-Robert Zieler and Roman Bürki each finished at 1%. They barely registered.

Staff Picked: Manuel Neuer

Defender of the Year

You Picked: Mats Hummels

In by far the tightest race, Mats Hummels has been nominated by the community as the Bundesliga's best defender during the season. He finished with a total of 34.6% of the vote, just ahead of Jerome Boateng's 32.3%. Third and fourth place were occupied by Bayern defenders David Alaba (14.3%) and Philipp Lahm (12.8%). Marcel Schmelzer (3.8%) and Marvin Matip (2.3%) also received votes.

Staff Picked: Mats Hummels

Player of the Year

You Picked: Robert Lewandowski

Robert Lewandowski was the runaway favorite in the Player of the Year voting, picking up a whopping 72.2% of the vote. Thomas Müller and Henrikh Mkhitaryan battled it out for second place, with Müller pipping the Armenian 14.3% to 13.5%. Shockingly, the fourth player in the contest, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang received absolutely zero votes.

Staff Picked: Robert Lewandowski

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works