clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge elected to the International Football Hall of Fame

A great honour for Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

FC Bayern chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge has been inducted into the International Football Hall of Fame this year. A 55-strong jury elected Rummenigge in the poll conducted in Pachuca, Mexico.

Three Bayern Munich legends have entered the Hall of Fame: Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Müller and Lothar Matthäus. The official ceremony will take place in Pachuca on November 8.

The International Football Hall of Fame supervised by FIFA  was inaugurated in 2011. World Cup 1974 winners Beckenbauer and Müller, and 1990 world champion Matthäus were inducted in the first year of its existence.

The 60-year-old Rummenigge won two Bundesliga titles, two German Cups, two European Cups with Bayern and, with Germany, won the European championship.

Rummenigge joins the likes of Pelé, the late Johan Cruyff, Marco van Basten, Mario Alberto Kempes, Zinedine Zidane, Bobby Charlton, Franco Baresi, Paolo Maldini and Luis Figo among others. Aside from Rummenigge, Brazilians Zico and Ronaldo and Italian Paolo Rossi will be honoured in November.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works