clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pep Guardiola nominated for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016

The Spaniard won his third straight Bundesliga title.

Bayern Muenchen v Borussia Dortmund - DFB Cup Final 2016 Photo by Lars Baron/Bongarts/Getty Images

Pep Guardiola has been named to the 10 person shortlist for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016. In his final season in Munich, Guardiola led the club to the domestic double, winning the Bundesliga and DFB Pokal.

Bayern marched to their third straight Bundesliga title during the 2015-16 Bundesliga season and second DFB Pokal in three years. However, the club once again came up short in the UEFA Champions League, being eliminated on away goals by Atletico Madrid in the semifinals.

Guardiola previously won the award in 2011 and finished in third place in 2010 and 2012 while at Barcelona. While at the helm of Bayern in 2015, Guardiola finished second behind current Barcelona manager Luis Enrique.

The leading candidates for the award will be Claudio Ranieri, Zinedine Zidane, and Fernando Santos.

The winner will be announced on January 9, 2017 at The Best FIFA Football Awards show.

The full list of candidates are:

Chris Coleman (Wales National Team)
Didier Deschamps (France National Team)
Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich / Manchester City)
Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool)
Luis Enrique (Barcelona)
Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur)
Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City)
Fernando Santos (Portugal National Team)
Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid)
Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works