clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manuel Neuer, David Alaba named to UEFA Team of the Year

Of course, it's UEFA, so it's another Real Madrid and Barcelona lovefest.

Matthias Hangst/Getty Images

Manuel Neuer and David Alaba have been named to UEFA Team of the Year 2015. The two Bayern Munich join one Juventus player, five Barcelona players, and three Real Madrid players.

This is the third year in a row that Neuer and Alaba have made the UEFA Team of the Year. Both are well behind the current streak held by Real Madrid winger Cristiano Ronaldo who is making the list for the ninth consecutive year. The two also have been named to the team more than any other Bayern player aside from Philipp Lahm (5 times).

Lionel Messi is joined by his Champions League winning Barcelona teammates Neymar, Andres Iniesta, Dani Alves, and Gerard Pique.

There are three first timers in the team this year: Paul Pogba, James Rodriguez, and Neymar.

UEFA Team of the Year 2015

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (3rd appearance)

Defenders: Dani Alves (4), Sergio Ramos (5), Gerard Pique (4), David Alaba (3)

Midfielders: Paul Pogba (1), Andres Iniesta (5), James Rodriguez (1)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (10), Lionel Messi (7), Neymar (1)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works