clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BunDucksLiga 2016: A shocker in the qualifying rounds!

Things are turned upside down early in the qualifying rounds of the 2016 BunDucksLiga.

Nobody saw that coming.

The qualifying rounds for the 2016 BunDucksLiga have taken place, and there are a few shakeups. In fact, we have five new clubs advancing to the Finals of this year's competition.

Last year's champions Hertha Berlin started the competition in Group A. They were joined by Wolfsburg, Werder Bremen, Hamburg, Hannover 96, and Bundesliga new boys Darmstadt.

When the checkered flag was waved, Darmstadt won the qualifying heat ahead of second place Hertha BSC. The reigning champs finished just one second ahead of Werder Bremen and can celebrate their shot at retaining their crown in the Final.

Everyone's favorite and heroes of the world Bayern Munich were drawn into Group B. Bayern are joined by Hoffenheim, Ingolstadt, Augsburg, Eintracht Frankfurt, and Stuttgart.

Bayern got off to an unquestionably poor start, and they never recovered. Finishing nearly four full seconds behind first place Ingolstadt, FCB found themselves on the outside of the Final looking in. Augsburg raced past Bayern by nearly two seconds to take second.

At least two Bavarian clubs are going to the Final?

The northwest of Germany dominate Group C with Borussia Dortmund, Schalke, Köln, Bayer Leverkusen, Borussia Mönchengladbach, and Mainz are joined together.

Like their play on the field, Leverkusen used their speed to their advantage and finished with the fastest time in qualifying. Schalke pipped Mainz by less than a second to snatch the second qualifying spot. This was a really fast group. If they were in Group A, all of them would have qualifying except for Mainz. Stunning speed in the final group.

We now know the six clubs that move onto the Final Round, and only one of them is a repeat from last season.

Who cares about the Bundesliga, when Bayern's rubber duck racing team fails so spectacularly in the qualifying rounds of the BunDucksLiga?

Here are the final six racers who will compete in the Final of the 2016 BunDucksLiga.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works