clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bayern Munich are only sending 3 players to the German national team

Three is much lower than it has been in the past.

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

Two years ago, Bayern Munich were at a steady clip of supplying Die Mannschaft with nearly a third of their team. In the last couple years, that number has dropped with retirements, player movement, and squad shuffles but this international break feels like it should an all-time low as Bayern are only sending three representatives to the German national team.

Thomas Müller, Manuel Neuer and Jerome Boateng are the sole representatives from Bayern Munich in a German national team that is becoming dramatically more diverse team with players coming from 6 countries, and 16 clubs across Europe. While Bayern Munich should in all likelihood be sending five players, long term injuries to Holger Badstuber and Mario Götze make them not available for selection, just in case you'd forgotten about them in the midst of Kingsley Coman being exciting and Javi Martinez coming back. Although the presence of 5 former Bayern Munich players should not be shocking.

Their absences, along with a surprising no call for Toni Kroos, has allowed Jögi Low to gives opportunities to some new faces as Kevin Trapp finally gets a thoroughly deserved callup while MARIO GOMEZ somehow found his way back into the squad along with the electric Leroy Sane.

The full squad is below:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Kevin Trapp (PSG), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Ron Robert Zieler (Hannover 96)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng, Emre Can (Liverpool), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hector( 1. FC Köln) Mats Hummels (Borssai Dortmund), Shkodran Mustafi (FC Valencia), Antonio Rüdiger (AS Roma), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim)

Midfielders: Karim Bellarabi (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Wolfsburg), Ilkay Gundogan (Borussia Dortmund), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Cristoph Kramer (Bayer Leverkusen), Thomas Müller, Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray), Andre Schürrle (Wolfsburg), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United)

Strikers: Mario Gomez (Besiktas), Max Kruse (Wolfsburg), Leroy Sane (Schalke), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works