clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pep Guardiola nominated for 2015 FIFA World Coach of the Year

Bayern Munich's 2015 has seen Pep Guardiola nominated for FIFA World Coach of the Year.

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

FIFA announced the nominees for the 2015 FIFA Men's and Women's World Coach of the Year, and Bayern Munich's Pep Guardiola made the final three.

Guardiola was named alongside Barcelona coach Luis Enrique and Chile's Jorge Sampaoli. Guardiola led Bayern to the Bundesliga championship in 2015. Enrique's Barcelona won the triple with the Champions League, La Liga, and Copa Del Rey. Sampaoli helped Chile win their first ever title by bringing home this summer's Copa America.

On the women's side, the nominees all come from this past summer's Women's World Cup in Canada. The world champions are represented by their coach Jill Ellis, while the second (Japan) and third (England) place teams have their coaches present, too.

2015 FIFA Men's World Coach of the Year

  • Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich)
  • Luis Enrique (Barcelona)
  • Jorge Sampaoli (Chile National Team)

2015 FIFA Women's World Coach of the Year

  • Jill Ellis (USA National Team)
  • Mark Sampson (England National Team)
  • Norio Sasaki (Japan National Team)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works