clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 FIFA Ballon d'Or: No Bayern Munich players in final three

FIFA announced another Spanish love fest in the race for the FIFA Ballon d'Or.

Denis Doyle/Getty Images

The final three names are out for the FIFA Men's and Women's Ballon d'Or, and no Bayern Munich players among those six names. With FIFA's love affair with La Liga, the fact that all three players comes from Spain's league.

Lional Messi, Neymar, and Cristiano Ronaldo are the three men up for the award. Messi and Neymar helped Barcelona win the Champions League along with La Liga and Copa Del Rey. Ronaldo didn't win anything.

On the women's side of things, FCB was also left out of the final three. This was to be expected, as the women's award focuses far more on international football than that at the club level. The final three are Carli Lloyd, Aya Miyama, and Celia Sasic.

2015 FIFA Men's Ballon d'Or

  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)
  • Neymar (Barcelona/Brazil)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)

2015 FIFA Women's Ballon d'Or

  • Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash/USA)
  • Aya Miyama (Okayama Yunogo Belle/Japan)
  • Celia Sasic (FFC Frankfurt/Germany)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works