clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eleven Bayern Munich players nominated for FIFA FIFPro World XI

It's a full team. Wow.

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

FIFA have announced the shortlist for the 2015 FIFA FIFPro World XI. By "shortlist", FIFA means "55 players". One fifth of those player belong to everyone's favorite club Bayern Munich. Eleven Bayern players are in the running for this year's World XI thanks to a pretty good campaign.

David Alaba, Thiago Alcantara, Xabi Alonso, Jerome Boateng, Douglas Costa, Philipp Lahm, Robert Lewandowski, Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben, and Arturo Vidal all have the opportunity to be named among Europe's elite when the announcement is made in January.

If Neuer and Lahm are named to the team, it will be the third year in a row for the two players. Robben has the opportunity to make it two years in a row, but it is unlikely that he will make the final list due to amount of time he has missed this year due to various injuries.

You can build an entire starting eleven out of the nominated Bayern players.

55 Player "Shortlist"

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/FC Porto), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).

Defenders: David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jérôme Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus), Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanović (Serbia/Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), John Terry (England/Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid).

Midfielders: Thiago Alcântara (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andrés Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/New York City FC), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitić (Croatia/FC Barcelona), James Rodríguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City),Yaya Touré (Côte d'Ivoire/Manchester City), Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain), Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Bayern Munich).

Strikers: Sergio Agüero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Douglas Costa (Brazil/FC Bayern Munich), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), Alexis Sánchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona) , Carlos Tevez (Argentina/Boca Juniors).

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works