clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Philipp Lahm named to UEFA's Ultimate Team of the Year

That Lahm fella is pretty great.

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

While UEFA has released their 2015 Team of the Year, they also have announced their "Ultimate Team of the Year". The players that are on this team are the ones that were named to the UEFA Team of the Year the most since the process began back in 2001.

For Bayern Munich, only one player qualifies for the team, and that man is the living legend Philipp Lahm. The defender was named to the team of the year five times in 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013, and 2014. Unfortunately, he didn't get nominated for the 2015 version.

However, if David Alaba makes the team this year, it will be his third time being named to the team and push him closer to the Ultimate Team.

What are your thoughts on the team?

Ultimate Team of the Year

Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (6)

Defenders: Philipp Lahm (5), Carlos Puyol (6), Alessandro Nesta (4), Sergio Ramos (4)

Midfielders: Andres Iniesta (4), Xavi Hernandez (5), Steven Gerrard (3)

Forwards: Thierry Henry (5), Lionel Messi (6), Cristiano Ronaldo (9)

Substitutes: Gianluigi Buffon (3), John Terry (4), Kaka (3), Zinedine Zidane (3), Pavel Nedved (3), Ronaldinho (3), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (4)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works