clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jerome Boateng, Manuel Neuer leave Germany squad ahead of Netherlands friendly


Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

Germany will only take an 18 man squad for their friendly match against the Netherlands on Tuesday. Jogi Löw made the decision to release six players from the senior national squad, including two Bayern Munich players.

Manuel Neuer, Lukas Podolski, and Bastian Schweinsteiger were given leave by the manager in order for a bit extra rest. The three are veteran players in the squad and Löw is well aware at what they bring to the side.

On the other hand, Jerome Boateng and Jonas Hector were allowed to head back to their club sides early as they are "nursing minor injuries". By all accounts, neither is anything that their clubs need to worry about at this time.

Schalke's Leroy Sane is being sent to Fürth to take part in Germany's U21 qualifier against Austria. The Germans and Austrians are tied atop Group 7 on twelve points after four matches.

Arjen Robben will already not play a part in the friendly. It was agreed upon before the match that he would only play in one of the two Netherlands' friendlies this break.

There was some question as to whether this friendly would be canceled after the events that transpired in France a few days ago. The following is the statement from DFB Vice President Dr. Reinhard Rauball on the decision to play the match.

"The message is clear - we will not be intimidated by terror. The fact that the game against the Netherlands will go ahead just a few days after the atrocious events from the international in Paris, is a necessary step. Head coach Joachim Löw and every single player gave their respect for this demonstration of solidarity for the victims and the entire French population."

Full Germany Squad

Goalkeepers: Kevin Trapp (PSG), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Ron Robert Zieler (Hannover 96)

Defenders: Emre Can (Liverpool), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Shkodran Mustafi (FC Valencia), Antonio Rüdiger (AS Roma), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim)

Midfielders: Julian Draxler (Wolfsburg), Ilkay Gundogan (Borussia Dortmund), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Cristoph Kramer (Bayer Leverkusen), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Andre Schürrle (Wolfsburg)

Strikers: Mario Gomez (Besiktas), Max Kruse (Wolfsburg), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works