clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Bayern Munich players nominated for UEFA's 2014 Best Player in Europe award

Bayern Munich leads the way with four nominations.

Adam Pretty

The ten player shortlist for European Footballer of the Year was released on Thursday by UEFA, and Bayern Munich players take up 40% of the slots. If you remember, Franck Ribery won the award in 2013.

Bayern is represented by Philipp Lahm, Thomas Müller, Manuel Neuer, and Arjen Robben. The four players were outstanding last season and led the club to a Bundesliga and DFB Pokal title.

Player Club
Diego Costa Chelsea (Atletico Madrid)
Angel Di Maria Real Madrid
James Rodriguez Monaco
Philipp Lahm Bayern Munich
Lionel Messi Barcelona
Thomas Müller Bayern Munich
Manuel Neuer Bayern Munich
Arjen Robben Bayern Munich
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
Luis Suarez Barcelona (Liverpool)

Nothing would warm my heart like seeing Lahm winning the trophy, but we all know that these awards usually go to the flashy players.

The list will be narrowed down to three on August 14, and the winner will be announced during the UEFA Champions League draw on August 28 in Monaco.

Here are the rules:

As in previous years, a jury of journalists from each of UEFA's member associations has provided the initial list by voting for their five best players. The players are ordered from one to five, with the first receiving five points, the second four points and so on.

Only the ten best-ranked players advance to the second vote, which in turn defines the three finalists. That same jury will then cast their live votes during a special ceremony at the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, with the journalists using an electronic system to determine the outright winner from the three candidates.

A total of 35 players received votes in UEFA's poll. Toni Kroos, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Franck Ribery, and Mario Götze also made the list.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works