clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Löw Calls Upon Seven Bayern Munich Players in Preliminary Roster

Key Bayern players in World Cup qualifiers make the 30-man roster in Germany

Lars Baron

German National Team coach Joachim Löw revealed his preliminary 30-man roster for the World Cup on Thursday, 35 days before the competition will commence. Seven of the players he named play Bayern München, making the Bundesliga champions the most represented team in the squad.

Jérôme Boateng, Mario Götze, Toni Kroos, Philipp Lahm, Thomas Müller, Manuel Neuer, and Bastian Schweinsteiger all made the cut. Still recovering from his knee injury, Holger Badstuber will unable to return for his country after participating in the World Cup four years ago.

Löw has until June 2 in order to cut his final roster down to 23 players, a deadline which follows friendlies against Poland and Cameroon. All seven participated in World Cup qualifying, with Schweinsteiger the only one to make less that seven appearances. Eight Bayern players went to the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, including Kroos, Lahm, Müller and Schweinsteiger.

Löw left out former Bayern striker Mario Gómez while including veteran target man Miroslav Klose; Marcell Jansen and Lukas Podolski were the other former Bayern players included in the squad. Also, with Sami Khedira named to the side, Philipp Lahm could return to his "natural" position at right fullback.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern München), Roman Weidenfeller (Borussia Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover 96)

Defenders: Jérôme Boateng (Bayern München), Erik Durm (Borussia Dortmund), Matthias Ginter (SC Freiburg), Kevin Großkreutz (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Höwedes (Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Marcell Jansen (Hamburger SV), Philipp Lahm (Bayern München), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal), Shkodran Mustafi (Sampdoria), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfielders: Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Schalke 04), Mario Götze (Bayern München), Leon Goretzka (Schalke 04), André Hahn (Augsburg), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Bayern München), Max Meyer (Schalke 04), Thomas Müller (Bayern München), Mesut Özil (Arsenal), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern München), André Schürrle (Chelsea)

Forwards: Miroslav Klose (Lazio), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works