clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

David Alaba, Philipp Lahm, Arjen Robben, Franck Ribery headline Kicker's team of the year

Kicker released their team of the year, and Bayern is well-represented on it.

Alexandra Beier

It's that time of year when Kicker releases their Bundesliga Team of the Year. I'm sure you're wondering how well Bayern did. So, without further adieu, here is your 2013-2014 Bundesliga Team of the year.

Robert Lewandowski

Franck Ribery - Marco Reus - Arjen Robben

Philipp Lahm - Daniel Baier

David Alaba - Mats Hummels - Ömer Toprak - Kevin Großkreutz

Bernd Leno

Bayern are clearly well represented on the list with Ribery, Robben, Lahm and Alaba being named to the team. BVB also have four players on the team. Two of them have Bayern ties, with Lewandowski joining Munich in the summer and Hummels coming up through the club's youth academy.

The real surprise, to me at least, is Augsburg's Baier in central midfield. While his inclusion is a testament to Augsburg's fantastic season, I did expect to see any number of other players in this list ahead of him.

Bayern Munich: Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben, Philipp Lahm, David Alaba

Borussia Dortmund: Robert Lewandowski, Marco Reus, Mats Hummels, Kevin Großkreutz

Bayer Leverkusen: Bernd Leno, Ömer Toprak

FC Augsburg: Daniel Baier

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works