clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben heading to Brazil with France, Netherlands

Two more Bayern Munich players are heading to the World Cup after the announcement of the squads for France and the Netherlands.

Alexandra Beier

It's official: Robbery are heading to the World Cup. Both Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben were named to their respective national team rosters for a trip to Brazil this summer to competed on the grandest stage of them all. These are just the preliminary 30 man rosters, but both will be going to Brazil barring an injury.

While his form dropped dramatically after his butt injury, Ribery still has 16 goals in all competitions to his name and has the opportunity to shine in the DFB Pokal Final against Borussia Dortmund this weekend. If France is to do anything at this world cup, Ribery has to play to his full potential.

Robben headlines a Dutch squad that features a lot of familiar faces like Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, Robin Van Persie, and Rafael Van der Vaart. Louis Van Gaal has named a surprisingly domestic heavy roster for the Dutch. They made the Final against Spain back at World Cup 2010 but were dumped out of the group stage of Euro 2012 with zero points. How they'll do in Brazil is anyone's guess.

France Squad

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Mickaël Landreau (Bastia), Steve Mandanda (Marseille), Stéphane Ruffier (Saint-Étienne)

Defenders: Mathieu Debuchy (Newcastle), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Mamadou Sakho (Liverpool), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid), Eliaquim Mangala (Porto), Lucas Digne (Paris Saint-Germain), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Benoît Trémoulinas (Saint-Étienne)

Midfielders: Yohan Cabaye (Paris Saint-Germain), Clément Grenier (Lyon), Blaise Matuidi (Paris Saint-Germain), Rio Mavuba (Lille), Loïc Perrin (Saint-Étienne), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle), Mathieu Valbuena (Marseille), Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton), Rémy Cabella (Montpellier), Maxime Gonalons (Lyon)

Forwards: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Antoine Griezmann (Real Sociedad), Loïc Rémy (Queens Park Rangers), Franck Ribéry (Bayern Munich), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon)

Netherlands Squad

Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Michel Vorm (Swansea City), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)

Defenders: Paul Verhaegh (FC Augsburg), Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse), Karim Rekik (PSV), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Daley Blind (Ajax), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord)

Midfielders: Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Leroy Fer (Norwich City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Rafael van der Vaart (HSV), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV)

Forwards: Memphis Depay (PSV), Jean-Paul Boëtius (Feyenoord), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahçe), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04), Quincy Promes (FC Twente), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works