clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ribéry Loses Ballon d'Or, but joins Neuer, Lahm, and Heynckes in Ceremonies

Disappointing in one big aspect, but a good representation for the European Champions nonetheless

Martin Rose

The annual football pageant is finally over, and the tit-for-tat debate and altercations can finally cease. While Bayern Munich was well represented in the World XI and Coach of the Year, the biggest individual prize did not fall into the Rekordmeister's favor.

Cristiano Ronaldo won the 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or, the second time the Portuguese forward has won the biggest individual award in the world. His 69 goals in 2013 for club and country was the most of any player, and FC Bayern superstar Franck Ribéry could only watch as Ronaldo carried his son on stage.

Ronaldo won 1,365 points to secure first place, with Lionel Messi finishing second with 1,205 and Ribéry finishing third with 1,127.

While not able to raise the golden ball, Ribéry did win a spot in the FIFA FIFPro World XI along with mates Neuer and Lahm. It is the first appearance for all three in the World XI, the perfect season for FC Bayern to win over a few places in the side.

The most relieved player must be Lahm, who has finally snatched a spot in the back line after eight nominations. The other FC Bayern players nominated were Dante, Jerome Boateng, David Alaba, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Arjen Robben and Mario Mandzukic.

To top it all of, Jupp Heynckes's career went out with an even bigger bang. The 68-year-old won the FIFA Coach of the Year, a suitable reward for the managerial job he did to guide the first German club to a European triple. His 1,806 points was more than Borussia Dortmund manager Jürgen Klopp's (766) and former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Fergusen's (711) combined.

Considering the controversy surrounding the pageantry every year, the fact that FC Bayern left with four of its members honored is still something for the club to celebrate. The Rekordmeisters leave Switzerland with the greatest representation at the Ballon d'Or presentation, no matter how silly the ceremony is.

Ballon d'Or (Men): Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid/Portugal
Ballon d'Or (Women): Nadine Angerer, Brisbane Roar/Germany
Ballon d'Or Prix d'Honneur: Pelé, Brazil
World Coach of the Year (Men): Jupp Heynckes, FC Bayern München
World Coach of the Year (Women): Silvia Neid, Germany
Presidential Award: Jacques Rogge
Fair Play Award: Afghanistan Football Federation
Púskas Award (Goal of the Year): Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Sweden vs. England

World XI (4-3-3):

FC Bayern München Manuel Neuer Germany

FC Bayern München Philipp Lahm GermanyReal Madrid CF Sergio Ramos SpainParis Saint-Germain Thiago Silva BrazilFC Barcelona Dani Alves Brazil

FC Barcelona Andrés Iniesta SpainFC Barcelona Xavi Hernández SpainFC Bayern München Franck Ribéry France

Real Madrid CF Cristiano Ronaldo PortugalParis Saint-Germain Zlatan Ibrahimović Sweden FC Barcelona Lionel Messi Argentina

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bavarian Football Works Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Bayern Munich news from Bavarian Football Works