clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Franck Ribery named French Footballer of the Year

Another Bayern player wins his country's "Footballer of the Year" award.

Martin Rose

While he may have one eye on the Ballon d'Or that's awarded next month, Franck Ribery can add another trophy to his name this week. Magazine France Football has named him French Footballer of the Year, and it was nearly unanimous.

This marks the third time that Ribery has won the award. The other two times were way back in 2007 and 2008 when he won it back to back years. Rounding out the top three for this award were Paris Saint-Germain's Blaise Matuidi and Juventus' Paul Pogba, finishing second and third respectively.

Until 1996, only players that were currently playing in France were eligible for the award. Since that time, it has been won by players like Didier Deschamps, Lilian Thuram, Zinedine Zidane, Thierry Henry, and Patrick Vieira. Henry won the award a record five times.

Next, the award for Ribery to bring home will be the prestigious Ballon d'Or.

"I dream every night! Individually, it is the apotheosis for a player. I know I have two fingers touching the trophy. When people like Ibra, Eric Cantona, Didier Deschamps, Laurent Blanc, Franz Beckenbauer, and Karl Heinz Rummenigge support me, it warms my heart. It makes me happy to belong to this group and be among the favorites for this award."

Ribery understands that he had a great season and is very deserving of the award. Here's hoping he brings that one home, too.